An official website of the United States government

Health Alert for Dutch Caribbean, April 16, 2020
April 16, 2020

COVID19 Daily Health Alert

The governments of Aruba, Curaçao, Saba, Sint Eustatius and Sint Maarten have all confirmed cases of COVID-19 in their respective territories.

There are no confirmed cases of COVID-19 reported in Bonaire.

On March 14, the Department of State authorized the departure from any diplomatic or consular post in the world of US personnel and family members who have been medically determined to be at higher risk of a poor outcome if exposed to COVID-19.

The governments of all six islands of the Dutch Caribbean have implemented enhanced screening and quarantine measures to reduce the spread of COVID-19.  Travelers should be prepared for travel restrictions to be put into effect with little or no advance notice. U.S. citizens who are considering returning to the United States are urged to work with their airlines to make travel arrangements while flights are still available. All six islands of the Dutch Caribbean have barred admission to travelers who are not legal residents of the respective island.  Commercial flights to the United States from Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten have ended.  The ability to transit Sint Maarten for a connecting flight has also ended.

If you are a U.S. citizen attempting to return the United States from the Dutch Caribbean and have been unable to secure a commercial flight, please click here and complete the information request form.  A request form must be completed for each person wishing to return to the United States.  This information will be used only to measure interest and feasibility in determining alternative options, such as charter flights, to return.  We thank you for your patience as we process this information and look for options to assist your return to the United States.

The governments of all six islands have implemented measures to limit the spread of COVID-19.  Schools and universities are closed, sporting events, festivals, and large gatherings have been banned.

The governments of Aruba, Curaçao, Saba, and Sint Maarten have issued 24-hour “shelter-in-place” orders.  Anyone resident in Aruba, Curaçao, Saba, or Sint Maarten cannot leave their homes except to perform essential functions (purchase groceries/medications, purchase fuel, or visit the hospital for a life-threatening emergency).Only one person per family is allowed to perform these essential functions.  Saba and Sint Maarten have further restrictions that do not allow even for trips to the store. 

Additionally, Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten have implemented curfews between 8:00pm – 6:00am (Aruba and Sint Maarten) and 9:00pm – 6:00am (Curaçao) where it is not permitted to go outside, even for essential functions, except for a medical emergency.

Effective March 16, U.S. Consulate General Curaçao has suspended routine U.S. visa services.  For emergency American Citizens Services, including emergency passports, please visit our website for additional information https://cw.usconsulate.gov/u-s-citizen-services/.

Many travelers worldwide have reported unexpected flight cancellations and limited flight availability.  If your travel has been disrupted, please contact your airline.

The Department of State has issued a Global Level 4 Health Advisory for COVID-19.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 3 Global COVID-19 Outbreak Notice.

Actions to Take:

U.S. Consulate General Curaçao
J.B. Gorsiraweg #1

State Department – Consular Affairs
888-407-4747 or 202-501-4444
Country Information Page (type in name of respective island)
Enroll in Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive Alerts.
Follow us on Facebook.

NOTE: This information will continue to be sent regularly for the benefit of new registrants in STEP.  We will be sure to highlight any new information from previous emails.