Dutch Passport Holders from the Dutch Caribbean Continue to be Eligible to Travel to the U.S. Under the VWP

Contact: W.J. Remie
Phone: 461-3066 ext. 2240

Dutch passport holders, including those who reside on the islands of Curacao, Sint Maarten, Aruba, Saba, St. Eustatius, and Bonaire, continue to be ELIGIBLE to travel to the U.S. under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) by first applying for Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA). ESTA is accessible online at https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov.

As of April 1, 2016, travelers must have an e-passport to use the VWP. An e-Passport is an enhanced secure passport with an embedded electronic chip. Travelers can readily identify an e-Passport, because it has a unique international symbol ( ) on the cover. Passports issued by the Kingdom of the Netherlands bear this symbol.

The VWP allows visitors with passports from participating countries to travel to the U.S. for business or pleasure for 90 days or less without obtaining a visa. There is a $14 fee to obtain the travel authorization. Travel authorizations are generally valid for two (2) years OR until your passport expires, whichever comes first.

Be sure to check the expiration date of your ESTA travel authorization before finalizing your travel plans. We recommend that ESTA applications be submitted no less than 72 hours prior to travel. For additional information also available in English, Dutch, and Spanish, please visit http://www.cbp.gov/travel/international-visitors/esta.

Travelers should print out the ESTA application response in order to maintain a record of their ESTA application number. The U.S. Consulate General in Curacao also strongly recommends that travelers carry a copy of the approved ESTA with them when traveling to the U.S.